Follow Us:

Mayawati’s BSP to contest UP by-polls alone, future of alliance with SP uncertain

The BSP-SP-RLD alliance won a total of 15 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, with the BSP winning 10 of the 38 it contested and SP winning five of the 37 it contested.

SNS | New Delhi |

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati told party workers on Monday that they will contest by-polls on all 11 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh alone, indicating of a possible rift in the pact she formed with Samajwadi Party (SP) earlier this year.

Addressing a meeting of party leaders from Uttar Pradesh in Delhi, Mayawati, the former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, reportedly said that BSP had not benefited from the alliance with the Akhilesh Yadav-led SP in the Lok Sabha elections.

According to India Today, Mayawati blamed the SP chief for failing to stop the division of Yadav votes during the parliamentary elections.

According to ANI the election results were discussed in a closed door review meeting.

BSP contested the Lok Sabha elections in an alliance with SP and RLD. The alliance won a total of 15 seats, with the BSP winning 10 of the 38 it contested and SP winning five of the 37 it contested. Even Akhilesh Yadav’s wife, Dimple Yadav, lost the Yadav bastion of Kannauj.

RLD failed to win any of the three seats it contested.

Eleven Assembly seats were vacated because the sitting legislators were elected to the Lok Sabha. Of the 11, nine were from BJP while one each was from BSP and SP.

The BSP supremo had on Sunday removed election coordinators of six states – Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, Gujarat, and Odisha – and two state presidents.

The BJP decisively defeated the alliance winning 62 seats of the 80 seats in the state, which helped the saffron party register their biggest ever tally of 303 seats. The NDA alliance, in turn, won 353 seats.