Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Thursday proved his majority by winning the trust vote in the floor test with 22 votes for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and 16 votes for Congress.

"Congress didn't have the numbers, we had enough to win. We had 23 MLAs with us, all stood by us. 22 voted in our favour, the Speaker, who is from our party could of course not vote," Parrikar said after winning the vote of confidence.

Parrikar was sworn in as the state CM on Tuesday along with nine other MLAs. Goa Governor Mridula Sinha appointed Parikkar on Monday after he claimed to form a government on Sunday.

The move came amid controversy with Congress alleging Goa Governor of violating constitutional norms by inviting BJP to form a government although the Congress was the single largest party with 17 seats in the 40-member assembly.

The Supreme Court ordered for the Thursday's trust vote following a petition filed by the Congress.

The BJP has won 13 seats in the February 4 state assembly elections and immediately built a coalition of three legislators each from regional parties- Goa Forward (GF), the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and two Independent legislators.