Malegaon blast accused Sadhvi Pragya joins BJP, says will contest, win LS polls

Malegaon blast accused Sadhvi Pragya joins BJP, says will contest, win LS polls

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur (Photo: Facebook | @s3553)

Malegaon bomb blast accused and Hindutva leader Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur on Wednesday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Madhya Pradesh’s Bhopal.

Earlier in the day, Pragya Thakur met senior leaders Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Ram Lal, and Prabhat Jha at the BJP office in Bhopal.

After formally joining the saffron party, she said she will contest and ensure her victory in the ongoing Lok Sabha polls. Speaking to the media, Thakur said she was extended the BJP membership on Tuesday.


There is speculation that the BJP might field Sadhvi Pragya from Bhopal against Congress’ Digvijaya Singh.

With the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) yet to announce the name of the party candidate from Bhopal, various names are doing rounds in the party circles, one of them is that of former chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

The BJP has been holding this seat since 1989. The Congress had last won the seat in 1984.

Earlier last month, Sadhvi Pragya had said that she was ready to take on Congress veteran Digvijaya Singh from Bhopal Lok Sabha seat if she is given a ticket by “organisation”.

“I am ready to take on Digvijaya Singh if ‘sanghatan’ (apparently referring to the BJP) asks me to do so,” Thakur told PTI after her name started doing rounds as a potential nominee.

The surprise candidature of Singh has prompted the BJP to redraw its strategy for Bhopal.

“Digvijaya is an anti-Hindu leader. He had called Hindus terrorists,” Thakur said.

A post-graduate in history, Thakur had worked with RSS-affiliate Akhil Bharti Vidhyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and ‘Durga Vahini’ or women’s wing of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP). She is known for delivering fiery speeches.

Thakur was given a clean chit by the National Investigation Agency (NIA) in the 2008 bomb blasts case. However, a special NIA court last year charged Pragya Singh Thakur, co-accused Lt Col Prasad Shrikant Purohit and four others for terror conspiracy, murder and other related offences in the 2008 Malegaon bomb blast case. All of them are facing trial in the case under UAPA.

Six people were killed and over 100 injured when an explosive device strapped on a motorcycle went off near a mosque in Malegaon in north Maharashtra, on September 29, 2008.

Bhopal constituency is spread over eight assembly segments, namely Berasia, Bhopal Uttar, Narela, Bhopal Dakshin-Paschhim, Bhopal Madhya, Govindpura, Huzur and Sehore.

Madhya Pradesh will go to polls in four stages during phase 4, 5, 6 and 7 scheduled on April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 respectively.

(With PTI inputs)