The high-intensity campaigning for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019 came to an end at 5 pm on Tuesday across the country. Campaigning also ended for Assembly elections scheduled for Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and 28 of 147 seats in Odisha. Ninety-one constituencies across the country will witness polling in the first of the seven-phase general elections on 11 April.

Voting will begin at 8 am in all the constituencies, which are spread across 20 states and Union Territories of the country including key states such as Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal.

Following the end of campaigning today, a complete ban on public meetings came into force. Till ban on all sorts of election-related processions, media advertisements and promotions will remain in effect till the end of polling on 11 April.

Earlier today Prime Minister Narendra Modi held major rallies in a final bid to woo voters ahead of the first phase of the elections. The rallies were held in constituencies which go to polls in the second phase of the elections on 18 April.

PM Modi took jibes at the Congress and other opposition parties in four rallies – Maharashtra’s Latur, Karnataka’s Chitradurga and Mysuru, and Tamil Nadu’s Coimbatore.

On the other hand, Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra held roadshows in Bijnor and Saharanpur in western Uttar Pradesh.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi was to address rallies in the two constituencies besides Shamli yesterday but could not on account of bad weather.

The three constituencies go to polls on 11 April.

There are 10 states and UTs where polling will take place on all constituencies in the first phase itself. They include: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar, Lakshadweep, Telangana and Uttarakhand.

Other states where voting will take place in this phase are Assam, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha and Tripura.