Jammu and Kashmir Governor N.N. Vohra on Thursday nominated eight members to the legislative council, the upper house of the state’s bicameral legislature, following recommendations by the state government.

Zaffar Iqbal Manhas, Ashok Khajuria, Vikramaditya Singh, Romesh Arora, Saifuddin Bhat, Ajatshatru Singh, Mohammad Khurshid Alam and Surinder Mohan Ambardar were nominated as new members, said a notification issued by the state law, justice and parliamentary affairs department here.

Four of the nominated members — Khajuria, Ajatshatru Singh, Arora and Ambardar — are from the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The other four — Manhas, Bhat, Vikramaditya Singh and Alam — are from the Peoples Democratic Party.