Follow Us:

Karnataka Assembly elections: Polling on May 12, results on May 15

SNS | New Delhi |

The Election Commission on Tuesday declared May 12 as the polling date for the Karnataka Assembly elections. The counting of the votes will be held on 15 May.

Addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said, “56,696 polling stations will be set-up, which is an increase of almost 9% from 2013 elections. All polling stations will have EVMs and VVPATs deployed and special arrangements will be made for women voters.”

“Law and order will be looked upon and there will be monitoring of people, there would be no room for anyone indulging in any sort of violence,” he added.

The Election Commission announced that 24 April will be the last date to file nominations, while 27 April 27 has been set as the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

The term of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly ends on May 28 this year.

The BJP is seeking to wrest control of the southern state from the Congress and has already declared former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa as its chief ministerial candidate.

The ruling Congress is going to polls under the leadership of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, in its bid to retain its hold over the state. Karnataka is the only big state, besides Punjab, which is now ruled by the Congress.

It is vital for the Congress to retain Karnataka to set a tone for the 2019 general elections, and also because it is currently in power only in three states — Punjab, Karnataka and Mizoram, besides the Union Territory of Puducherry.