statesman news service
CHENNAI, 27 JUNE: The DMK chief Mr M Karunanidhi&’s daughter Ms Kanimozhi (file photo) was on Thursday re-elected to the Rajya Sabha. Ms Kanimozhi, an accused in the 2G scam, sailed through the contest for a second term with 31 votes after five Congress’ MLAs voted in her favour along with two votes each from two smaller parties ~ Puthiya Thamizhagam and Manithaneya Munnetrak Katchi. One vote from the DMK bloc turned out to be invalid.
The CPI&’s Mr D Raja, for whom AIADMK had extended support, won with 34 votes. He has also been re-elected for a second term to the Rajya Sabha.
Dr V Maitreyan, a medical oncologist, Mr T Rathinavel, Mr K R Arjunan and Dr R Lakshmanan, an orthopaedics surgeon are the victorious AIADMK candidates. Dr Maitreyan with 36 votes has been elected to the Upper House for the third time. Mr Ratnavel and Mr Arjunan who got 36 votes each and Dr Lakshmanan with 35 votes are new entrants to the Upper House of Parliament.
The DMDK nominee, Mr A R Elangovan could secure only 22 votes and lost the elections. Seven dissident DMDK MLAs voted for the ruling AIADMK and its supported candidates.
Political analysts say that had Miss J Jayalalithaa asked her party MLAs to transfer the surplus votes to the DMDK nominee, the result would have been disastrous for the DMK. However, Miss Jayalalithaa had earlier indicated to her party leaders that she would prefer Ms Kanimozhi to anyone from Mr Vijyayakanth&’s DMDK getting elected to the Rajya Sabha.  
Voting began at around 11:30 a.m, nearly two-and-a half hours behind schedule, and it was over in a little over two hours.
Out of the 234 MLAs, the three legislators belonging to the Pattali Makkal Katchi did not cast their votes in line with the decision of their party to abstain from the RS election.