Follow Us:

Haryana’s golden jubilee celebration committee formed

Statesman News Service |

A 141-member state level swarna jayanti celebrations committee under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has been constituted to celebrate 50 years of formation of Haryana.

The celebration of Haryana’s golden jubilee will begin on November 1 and will conclude on October 31, 2017.

Apart from the 141 members, there would be three official members of the committee, an official spokesman said, adding that a notification to this effect has been issued.

The Haryana Chief Secretary will be the official member of the committee, the Additional Chief Secretary, Sports and Youth Affairs Department, as Member Secretary and retired IAS officer Rajeev Sharma will be the convener.

Union ministers Sushma Swaraj, Suresh Prabhu, Birender Singh, Rao Inderjeet Singh and Vijay Goel are also the committee members, the spokesman said.

Other members include Chief of Army Staff General Dalbir Singh, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sunil Lamba, Yoga guru Ramdev, former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, actors Parineeti Chopra and Randeep Hooda, former cricketers Kapil Dev and Virender Sehwag and boxer Vijender Singh, R C Bhargava, Chairman, Maruti Suzuki India Limited, and film director Subhash Ghai.