The Haryana assembly on Monday passed the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill.

Finance Minister Abhimanyu, who had moved the motion to this effect, said that the passage of the GST Bill was a revolutionary step.

The state, ruled by the BJP, became the 10th state to pass the bill after Mahrashtra die earlier on Monday.

The GST Bill was recently passed in both houses of Parliament and its ratification by various state legislatures is currently underway.

With the GST Bill, India will shed its complex taxation rules and enter a single tax regime replacing around 17 indirect taxes. 

The Bill has already been ratified by Assam, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Nagaland.