Authorities in Kashmir on Friday extended curfew in several places in the valley as a precautionary measure in view of the separatists’ call for a march to Aripthan area of Budgam district.

"Curfew has been extended to many towns, including Aripathan and Magam areas in Budgam district to maintain law and order," a police official said.

The separatists gave a call for protest march against the death of four civilians in clashes between the security forces and protesters in Aripthan on August 16.

Normal life was hit for the 42nd day in the Valley since the killing of  Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani in an encounter with security forces on July 8. Curfew continued in entire Srinagar district, Anantnag town, Pampore town, Shopian town, Khanpora in Baramulla, Ganderbal town and Kaloosa in Bandipora district, the official said. Restrictions on the movement of the people were in force in rest of the Valley.

Separatists led by Syed Ali Shah Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Mohammad Yasin Malik, has extended the agitation till August 25. Schools, colleges and private offices remained closed while public transport remained off roads. Mobile internet and telephony services also remained suspended.

As many as 64 persons, including two police personnel, have been killed and several thousand others injured in the clashes that follwed Burhan’s killing.