The Congress on Wednesday said that it will contest both Assembly and Lok Sabha elections from Andhra Pradesh alone. The decision was announced after a meeting of Congress leaders in Amravati.

Oommen Chandy, the former Kerala Chief Minister who is incharge of party affairs in Andhra Pradesh, said that his party will contest in all 175 Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha seats without any alliance partner.

“In Andhra Pradesh, there will be no alliance with any party for the forthcoming elections. Congress party will contest on all 175 assembly constituencies and 25 Lok Sabha seats alone,” said Raghuveera Reddy, Andhra Pradesh Congress President.

Reddy is scheduled to take out a bus yatra in all 13 districts in February.

Congress had contested the recent Assembly elections in Telangana with Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which rules Andhra Pradesh. The alliance faced a crushing defeat.

Stating that the decision to ally with Nara Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP was taken by the party high command, Chandy said that he will seek permission from the central leadership before conveying the decision to Naidu.

The former Kerala Chief Minister said the party also decided to form all committees including election committee as per AICC directions.

“We have to nominate seven committees. We will give list of members to AICC this week itself,” he said.

A meeting of all party workers in the state has been called on 31 January.

When asked to comment on the seats Congress is expecting to win, Chandy didn’t give any numbers.

TDP was in alliance with the BJP when it swept both the assembly and Lok Sabha elections from Andhra Pradesh in 2014. The YSR Congress had won 66 seats in 2014 and is the strongest opposition party in the state.

(With inputs from agencies.)