Follow Us:

Centre sanctions Rs.30 crore for solar cities programme

PTI | New Delhi |

Funds worth over Rs.30 crore have been sanctioned to 21 states and union territories under the solar cities development programme, the government said Thursday. 
These funds were sanctioned during the last three years till November 30 this year. 
Out of the total sanctioned amount of Rs.30.36 crore under the ‘Development of Solar Cities Programme’ for 21 states and union territories, around Rs.12.98 crore have been released, Power and Renewable Energy Minister Piyush Goyal told the Lok Sabha. 
In a written reply, he said 60 places have been included in the solar cities programme. It includes Gaya (Bihar), Mysore (Karnataka), Kochi (Kerala), Pune (Maharashtra), Panaji City (Goa), Howrah (West Bengal), Imphal (Manipur), Aizawl (Mizoram), Kohima (Nagaland), Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu) and Moradabad (Uttar Pradesh). 
Goyal said at least one city in each state would be included in the solar cities programme. 
Central Financial Assistance (CFA) of up to Rs.50 lakh is extended for each solar city. 
“Financial support up to Rs.9.50 crore is available to eight model solar cities and up to Rs.2.50 crore to 15 pilot solar cities for setting up of renewable energy projects/ systems/ devices,” Goyal said. 
The money would be given provided that an equal amount is made available by the concerned municipal corporation, city administration, state or from any other resources.