Bharatiya Janta Party’s (BJP) star campaigner and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister, Yogi Adityanath is set to address three rallies on Friday in eastern Uttar Pradesh. These rallies are being organised in view of the upcoming by-elections to 11 Assembly seats in the state.

BJP spokesperson, Harish Chandra Srivastava, said that the Chief Minister is scheduled to address rallies in Aligarh, Rampur and Saharanpur on Friday.

In Aligarh, he will address rally in Iglas, for the BJP candidate Ram Kumar. The second rally will be in Ajitpur Industrial Area of Rampur, where he will campaign for the BJP candidate Bharat Bhushan Gupta while his third rally will be in Nanauta ground in Saharanpur, where he will campaign for the BJP candidate Kirat Singh.

Yogi Aditytanath has already concluded rally in Pratapgarh, Bahraich and Mau, cities of eastern UP.

By-elections to 11 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh are being held in Gangoh (Saharanpur), Govind Nagar (Kanpur), Iglas (Aligarh), Manikpur (Chitrakoot), Zaidpur (Barabanki), Jalalpur (Ambedkar Nagar), Balha (Bahraich), Ghosi (Mau), Lucknow Cantonment (Lucknow), Rampur and Pratapgarh.

Among these 11 seats, 10 seats were vacated after the sitting MLAs were elected to the Lok Sabha. Another seat of Ghosi constituency was vacated after MLA Phagu Chauhan was appointed as the Governor of Bihar.

The by-election of Tundla seat is not being held as the matter is sub judice.

Out of these 11 seats, where the by-elections are scheduled, Rampur seat was won by Samajwadi Party in the 2017 Assembly elections while other were won by the BJP.

By-elections on these seats is scheduled on October 21 and the counting of votes will take place on October 24.