Reacting to BJP’s poor show in the Bihar and Uttar Pradesh bypolls, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday said “the beginning of the end has started” as she congratulated the SP, BSP and the RJD.

In a series of tweets, Mamata said: “Great victory. Congratulations to Mayawati Ji and @yadavakhilesh Ji for #UPByPolls. The beginning of the end has started.”

“Congratulations to @laluprasadrjd Ji for winning #Araria and #Jehanabad This is a great victory,” she said.

In a major blow to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Samajwadi Party (SP) has taken a substantial lead in Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s bastion Gorakhpur after trailing since early morning.

As per latest trends, the SP’s Praveen Kumar Nishad was leading by 26,960 votes over BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla in Gorakhpur.

Similarly, in Phulpur SP’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel was leading by 22,842 votes over BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel.

Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP as it is the stronghold of the chief minister, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. Prior to Adityanath, the seat was thrice represented in Parliament by his mentor, Yogi Avaidyanath.

Phulpur, once represented by the country’s first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 Lok Sabha election when Maurya won the seat.

While in Bihar, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) was leading in two of the three seats.