Nine ministers in the previous Anandiben Patel government were on Sunday dropped as Vijay Rupani took oath as Gujarat&’s 16th Chief Minister while Nitin Patel was sworn in as the Deputy CM.

The 9 ministers, including some who were loyalists of former Chief Minister Anandiben Patel were shown the door as Governor OP Kohli administered the oath of office and secrecy to 60-year-old Rupani.

Eight Cabinet-rank ministers, including Nitin Patel, and 16 Ministers of State were also sworn-in. The total size of the Council of Ministers, including the Chief Minister and Deputy CM now stands at 25.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bigwigs including party chief Amit Shah, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari among others were present at the function that took place at the Mahatma Mandir in state capital Gandhinagar.

The Chief Ministers of Maharashtra, Jharkhand and Haryana — Devendra Fadnavis, Raghubar Das and Manohar Lal Khattar respectively — were among the other dignitaries present on the occasion.

The first woman Chief Minister of Gujarat Anandiben Patel had on Monday announced her resignation through a Facebook post.

On Friday, the BJP central leadership chose Rupani for the post of the Chief Minister, considered to be a loyalist of Amit Shah.

Rupani had on Saturday called on the Governor and staked claim to form government in the state.