Press Trust of India
New Delhi, 7 October
In a major policy initiative, the Centre has decided to allow 45 autonomous colleges in the country with A grade from NAAC the
power to grant degrees, hitherto reserved for universities only.
These colleges will be converted into universities by the end of XII Plan. All these colleges have already been awarded the status of centre of potential excellence.
The list of 45 colleges include the Nizam college Gunboundry, Hyderabad, St. Xavier College, Kolkata, Loyola College, Chennai, Jamshedpur Women’s College, Mount Carmel College Bangalore, Institute of Excellence in Higher Education Bhopal, St Mira’s College for Girls in Pune, Patkai Christian College, Dimapur and S S Jain Subodh P G College, Jaipur.
The UGC Act will be suitably amended to enable these colleges to award degrees, said officials in HRD Ministry after a meeting of the principals of the autonomous colleges.
The UGC standing Advisory Committee on Autonomous Colleges under the Chair of Prof Syed Hasnain will finalize its recommendations within two months including a draft Regulations for autonomous colleges.
The initiative comes in the backdrop of the government clearing the ambitious Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) programme last week, which seeks to convert automous colleges to state universities.