Follow Us:

3 more districts in NCR

Statesman News Service |

Inclusion was approved by NCRPB
press trust of india
New Delhi, 1 July
Bhiwani and Mahendragarh districts of Haryana and Bharatpur in Rajasthan are now part of the National Capital Region (NCR).
Their inclusion was today approved by the National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) which will also soon take up proposals on Jind and Karnal districts.
“Based on the request of the participating states, the board today has approved the inclusion of Bharat in Rajasthan, Bhiwani and Mahendragarh in Haryana in the NCR.
The planning committee will also meet up shortly to take up Jind and Karnal,” Urban Development minister Kamal Nath said today after chairing the NCRPB meeting here. Mr Nath also said that the Regional Plan 2021 was reviewed and the Draft Revised Regional Plan 2021 prepared by the NCRPB in consultation with the participating states and stake-holders has been approved for inviting objections and suggestions from the public under the provisions of the NCRPB Act.
He said that there has been 62 per cent urbanisation in NCR and this is expected to go to 73 per cent by the year 2021, when it will become the highest urbanised area in the country.
He said the Expenditure Finance Committee (EFC) had recommended setting up of a National Capital Region Transport orporation(NCRTC) for implementation of RRTS which in Phase-I will connect Delhi-Panipat (111 km), Delhi-Alwar (180 km) and Delhi-Meerut (90 km).
He said that the matter would be taken up in the Cabinet soon. Giving more details, Mr Nath said that the work on the three corridors would start soon and would be completed by 2016 and NCRPB would contribute Rs 200 crore to begin the work on one of the lines.
Mr Nath said that to reduce Delhi’s burden states should create infrastructure related to health, sewage treatment and night shelters. He said that the Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (HUPA) Ministry had agreed to provide 50 of funds for 24 hour shelters and another 20 per cent would be provided by NCRPB. The meeting was attended by Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation minister Girija Vyas, Delhi CM Shiela Dixit, Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda, the Lt. Governor, Delhi Tejender Khanna and senior officials.