A day ahead of counting, Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday slammed the exit polls as “fake” and asked his partymen to remain vigilant.

In a bid to uplift the morale of the Congress workers, Gandhi urged them to not be afraid of the exit poll results and keep faith in the party as well as their hard work.

“Dear Congress workers, the next 24 hours are important. Remain alert and vigil. You are fighting for truth. Don’t get disheartened by the false exit polls. Have faith in yourself and the party, your efforts would not go in vain,” he said in a tweet in Hindi.

Rahul Gandhi’s tweet comes at a time when the BJP-led NDA government is flying high on confidence of a comfortable majority in the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls.

On Tuesday evening, in a massive show of strength, 36 BJP-led NDA allies expressed full faith in the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The leaders expressed full confidence about the victory of the alliance on May 23 and said 2019 will be “a decisive moment” in history.

The seven-phased polls came to an end on May 19. Counting of votes will take place on Thursday and the results will be declared on the same day.

Most of the exit polls have predicted a thumping victory for the BJP-led NDA alliance in the Lok Sabha elections.

As many as 11 exit polls predict that the NDA will march past the 300 mark. Three others forecast that the NDA will not get 300 but comfortably get more than 272 seats – the majority mark needed to form a government. Only two exit polls – NewsX and ABP News – are of the view that the NDA will be short of a majority.

However, the opposition has chosen to dismiss the exit polls as false and misleading.

Earlier on Monday, Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said the exit polls only lower the morale of the party workers and asked them to remain alert near the strong rooms and the counting centres.

The Congress, which suffered a humiliating defeat in 2014 as it could only win 44 out of 542 seats, has given a tough fight to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) this time.