Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday congratulated YSR Congress Party chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on victories of their respective parties in the assembly elections of Andhra Pradesh and Odisha.

“Dear @ysjagan, Congratulations on the remarkable win in Andhra Pradesh. Best wishes to you for a successful tenure,” the PM wrote on Twitter congratulating Reddy. The tweet was also posted in Telugu.


YS Jaganmohan Reddy, the son of former late Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YSR Reddy, scripted history by defeating the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) led by Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu in the coastal state.

Reddy’s party was leading in 148 of the 175 assembly seats in Karnataka. TDP was leading on 26.

YSR Congress was also leading in 23 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state, which was clearly a body blow to the TDP.

It was reported earlier today that Naidu will be submitting his resignation to Telangana Governor in the evening. Jaganmohan Reddy will take oath as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister on 30 May.

On the other hand, Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) was leading in 107 of the 147 assembly seats in Odisha. The BJP was leading on 22. The BJD was also leading in 13 of the 21 seats in Odisha.

“Congratulations to Naveen Babu for yet another victory in Odisha. Wishing him the very best for the next term,” wrote Modi on Twitter. He also used Odia language to congratulate Patnaik.


The NDA is leading on 351 Lok Sabha seats. Narendra Modi is set to be the first non-Congress leader to become Prime Minister for a second time. If the trends hold, he will also be the first PM to win consecutive majorities since 1971.