With the BJP crossing the 300-mark in the Lok Sabha elections, an ecstatic Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday said, “India wins yet again”.

Proving the exit polls right, the BJP government marched past the 300-mark of the total 542 seats to elect the 17th Lok Sabha.

The Congress is far behind with just 50 seats, according to the trends.

In 2014, the BJP had won 282 seats while the Congress had to contend with an all-time low of 44 seats as against the 206 it won in 2009.

The BJP is riding high on major gains in West Bengal and Karnataka and what appears to be a clean sweep in Rajasthan.

Taking to Twitter, PM Modi said that a combination of unity, development and trust has resulted in India’s victory.

With the BJP set to return to power, its parliamentary board is expected to meet today evening at the party headquarters where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to address party workers.

Top party leaders, including BJP president Amit Shah and some senior Union ministers besides PM Modi, are members of the parliamentary board, its highest decision-making body

The board is likely to pass a resolution to thank voters for their support and also hailing Modi’s leadership

The seven-phased Lok Sabha elections concluded on May 19. Almost all the exit polls had predicted a comfortable majority for the ruling government.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah had earlier exuded confidence in forming a majority government for the second consecutive term.

Read | Decision 2019: Lok Sabha Election results Live Updates