Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday submitted his resignation as per protocol to President Ram Nath Kovind.

After accepting the resignation, which was submitted after the Union Cabinet passed a resolution dissolving the 16th Lok Sabha, the President requested PM Modi and the Council of Ministers to continue till the new government assumes office.

Following his resignation, which is a formality before he takes oath of office once again, the PM reaffirmed his commitment to work for creation of a New India for people of the country.

“The sun sets on this term but the brightness our work has brought will continue to illuminate the lives of millions. A new dawn awaits, a new term beckons. We are even more determined to fulfil the dreams of 130 crore Indians and create the New India all of us dreamt of,” he tweeted after his meeting with the President.


Before calling on the President, the PM held interactions with the PMO staff and Council of Ministers.

“Met the Council of Ministers earlier today. It has been great working with this team, which has left no stone unturned to fulfil people’s aspirations and boost India’s development. I thanked them for their industrious efforts,” he said in a tweet.


“Had a wonderful interaction with the entire PMO staff. Thanked them for their hardwork over the last 5 years. Also thanked their family members, who have been very understanding. Emphasised on the importance of teamwork and how it ensures better efficiency and service delivery,” the PM wrote in another tweet.


Earlier today, BJP leaders from the PM’s constituency, Varanasi, presented the official certificate of election from the Lok Sabha constituency to Modi.

The PM said that he felt happy to be a representative of the “one of the oldest and most vibrant centres of Indian culture”.

“Party colleagues from Kashi gave me the official certificate of election from Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency! Feel happy to be representing one of the oldest and most vibrant centres of Indian culture,” read a tweet from the PM, in which he can be seen accepting the certificate.


PM Modi won a second term from Varanasi by defeating his nearest rival, SP’s Shalini Yadav, with a margin of 479505 votes. In 2014, the PM had won by a margin of 371784 votes.

In the 2019 elections, the PM got a total of 674664 votes or 63.62 per cent of all votes polled.

He is likely to take oath of office as the head of a new government on 30 May.