For the first time ever in the history of Indian democracy, conjoined sisters from Patna cast their vote as separate individuals in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections.

Saba and Farah, joined at their heads since birth, got independent voting rights as separate individuals from the Election Commission recently, which allowed the sisters to exercise their franchise separately.

The two sisters, from Digha assembly constituency, cast their votes at a polling booth in Madrasa Islamia in Samanpura.

The two sisters had first cast their votes as an individual on 18 October 2015 assembly election in Digha. At that time, the EC had refused to allow them to cast votes separately.

It was only now that the two sisters were granted separate voter ID cards.

Saba and Farah are 23 year olds. Though their family tried to consult doctors to find a way to separate the two sisters, doctors said that any such attempt could lead to complications resulting in the death of one of the sisters.

The Supreme Court, too, refused to allow the sisters to undergo operation.

Digha is an assembly constituency of Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat, which is represented in Parliament by Shatrughan Sinha. Formerly with the BJP, the actor-turned-politician is contesting on a Congress ticket.

Sinha is up against BJP’s Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Patna Sahib was one of the eight Lok Sabha seats from Bihar where polling was held in the seventh and last phase of Lok Sabha elections.

The other constituencies where voting was held today are Nalanda, Patliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat and Jahanabad.