The Avery Dennison Foundation has announced its top 10 winners for the Invention (InvEnt) Scholarship Award 2018.

The scholarship programme is exclusively designed to recognise and reward invention, innovation and excellence for the meritorious students excelling in the fields of science and technology at a few prestigious educational institutions of the country.

The winners were felicitated in New Delhi at an award ceremony where they were awarded a scholarship of USD 1300 each, along with an opportunity to participate in a workshop based on invention and innovation.

The winners were students of educational institutions such as Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi; IIT-Bombay; MKSSS’s Cummins College of Engineering for Women, Pune; National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli; M.S. Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Bengaluru.

“The Spirit of Invention (InvEnt) Scholarship empowers university students to become agents of change. Fellows work to ensure that they gain the knowledge, skills and attitude required to compete in the economy of the future and make a positive impact on the world.” said Janet Sandoval, Director, Corporate Social Responsibility, Avery Dennison Foundation.

“We are delighted to honor this scholarship to students in India who will drive the future of innovative entrepreneurship in the country,” she added.

A philanthropic arm of the Avery Dennison Corporation, the Avery Dennison Foundation Spirit of Invention (InvEnt) Scholarship Program was started in 2012 and has awarded 60 scholarships till date in India.

The participants had to undergo a three-tier selection process, where only ten of the 400 students were selected. The parameters for the selection were Innovation & Novelty of the idea, Addressing Real Need with Background Research & Thoroughness along with a personal interview.