Election for six seats of the Legislative Council (upper house) will be held here on April 17. These seats shall fall vacant  on April 19 due to retirement of Jehangir Hussain Mir, Jugal Kishore, Dr Bashir Ahmad  Shah Veeri, Master Noor Hussain, S Dharambir Singh Oberoi ( deceased) and Yasir Reshi.

The Chief Electoral Officer Shantmanu on Thursday held a meeting with officers of Legislative Assembly secretariat here to discuss the arrangements to be put in place for the smooth conduct of biennial elections to elect the Members Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council.

The Legislative Assembly is the electoral college for the Council seats and as such the 87 elected and 2 nominated members of the Assembly (MLA) will take part in polling through open ballot.  

Secretary, J&K Legislative Assembly will be the returning officer.