Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur on Sunday said the state government would fill up all the vacant posts of Physiotherapists in district-level hospitals on a priority basis.

Besides, one additional post of Physiotherapist would also be created in all the district hospitals of the state except Kinnaur and Lahaul Spiti, he said while addressing 1st Himclave-2019 on the occasion of World Physiotherapy Day.

The Chief Minister said in the present era of a hectic lifestyle and greater stress and strain, the role of Physiotherapists had become very vital.

“A Physiotherapist helps people suffering for injuries through movements and exercises and manual therapies. Apart from relieving the patients from physical challenges, they also help them psychosomatically and movement thereby helping them in recovering,” he added.

Thakur said the state government would also sympathetically consider the demand of Physiotherapists to constitute Himachal Pradesh Physiotherapists Council.

“Being a hilly state, the Physiotherapists have a major role as the frequency of road accident was higher than the other states in Himachal Pradesh,” he said.

He announced to fill three posts of Physiotherapists each in all the six medical colleges of the state to provide better health services to the patients.

Thakur said the state government had taken an initiative to provide services of Physiotherapists in the senior citizen homes operational in the state and all the vacant posts of Physiotherapists in the health institutions would be filled on priority. Additional Chief Secretary, Health RD Dhiman said Physiotherapists help in maintaining the health of the people of all ages besides helping the patients to manage pain and prevent diseases.

President, Indian Association of Physiotherapists of the Himachal Chapter Dr Anup Kumar detailed various activities of the associations and also apprised the Chief Minister regarding various demands of the associations.

A Physiotherapy workshop was also organised on this occasion by the Himachal Chapter of Indian Association of Physiotherapist.