Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur on Wednesday said the government was laying special emphasis on strengthening basic infrastructure and promoting industrialisation with a view to make Himachal self-reliant and ensure inclusive development.

He was addressing ‘Abhinandan Samaroh’ organised in Mandi to welcome National Working President of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Jagat Prakash Nadda who was on his first visit to the state after taking charge.

Thakur said balanced and equitable development of the state was the main focus of the state government.

“In addition, ‘Rising Himachal Investors Meet’ is being organised at Dharamshala on 7 and 8 November this year to attract investors to the state on a large scale,” he added.

Thakur said although Himachal has a small state, it is due to the benevolence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi that the state had gained prominence as he has entrusted a big responsibility on JP Nadda to lead the world’s biggest political party.

“Nadda has not only brought laurels to the state and its people but also raised the hope of crores of party workers to make it the best party in the world. Today the BJP was in power in seventeen states of the country and credit for this goes to each and every party worker.

The nation today has strong leadership in the form of PM Modi and world leaders have acknowledged that India was poised to emerge as a world power under his dynamic leadership,” he said.

He said now the Article 370 and 35-A have become history and India had one Constitution and one Symbol. The CM said the people of the state gave their full support and ensured the landslide victory of the BJP candidates in the Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP set a record in itself by winning in all the 68 Assembly constituencies of the state and vote share of the BJP was highest in the state. The highest victory margin in term of vote percentage was also of BJP MP Kishan Kapoor from Kangra parliamentary seat.

Irrigation and Public Health Minister Mahender Singh Thakur, Urban Development Minister Sarveen Chaudhary, Industries Minister Bikram Singh, Deputy Speaker Hansraj, MP Kishan Kapoor among others were present on the occasion.