Follow Us:



Rahul Gandhi condoles death of Congress MLA Siddu Nyamgouda

SNS | New Delhi |


Siddu Bhimappa Nyamgouda, 67, the newly-elected Karnataka Congress MLA from Jamkhandi in Bagalkot district of the state, passed away in a road accident in the early hours of Monday.

The vehicle, in which Nyamagouda was travelling met with an accident near Tulasigere, a village located close to Kaladgi in the same district. According to reports, the accident happened around 4.30 am when the MLA was returning from Goa to Jamakhandi. His car reportedly hit a divider.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi, who is currently abroad, took to Twitter and condoled the deat of the Congress leader.

“I am shocked to hear about the demise of Karnataka MLA, Shri Siddu Nyamagouda in a tragic accident. A popular leader, he played a major role in erecting a farmer’s barrage across the Krishna River at Padasalagi. My thoughts & prayers are with his family in their time of grief,” he tweeted.

Nyamagouda, who also served as the Union Coal Minister in the then prime minister PV Narasimha Rao’s cabinet, was known as a farmers’ leader, a point that Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa highlighted in his tribute to the Congress leader on Twitter.

“He was very concerned about farmers,” wrote Yeddyurappa while praying for strength to his family at this hour of grief.

Former Karnataka chief minister Siddaramaiah, too, mourned the death of the popular leader.

“The untimely death of our party MLA Siddu Nyamgouda has left me shocked. Siddu Nyamgouda, popularly known as ‘Barage Siddu’, will be missed,” wrote Siddaramaiah referring to the barrage Nyamgouda constructed at Chikkapadasalgi in Jamkhandi which serves as a lifeline for the sugarcane farmers of Jamkhandi and Athani of Belagavi district.

The Congress leader is also known for defeating former chief minister Ramkrishna Hegde in Bagalkot in his very first electoral contest.

He was one of the 78 Congress MLAs who were elected to the Karnataka Assembly in the May 12 polls.