Justice Arindam Sinha of Calcutta High Court directed that the present board of governors of La Martiniere will not be taking any decision till the disposal of a case challenging the removal of the four members of the board. The matter will next be heard on 31 July.

The nominations of four acting governors of the board of the two La Martiniere schools had been withdrawn by the two permanent ex-officio members, the bishop of the Calcutta diocese of the Church of North India, Parotosh Canning and the presbyter of St Andrew’s Church.

The four are Gerry Arathoon, the secretary and chief executive of the Council for Indian School Certificate Examinations (CISCE); Anjali Das, the principal of United Missionary School; Suchitra Guha, a former Tata Steel HR head; and Anil Mukherji, the CEO of Tollygunge Club.

Their term as board members has been ended on the ground that the previous management, under former bishop Probal Kanta Dutta, had not followed rules in nominating them.