Follow Us:

Haryana gears up for GST implementation

Statesman News Service | Chandigarh |

Haryana government is fully geared up for the implementation of Goods and Services Tax (GST) in the state and has set up District Offices in five ranges of Ambala, Gurugram, Faridabad, Hisar and Rohtak.

The state's Excise and Taxation Minister Captain Abhimanyu said that Joint Excise and Taxation Commissioner (JETC) has been made the range incharge.

He said that while Ambala Range would comprise of Panchkula, Ambala, Jagadhri, Kurukshetra, Kaithal and Karnal, Gurugram Range would comprise of Gurugram (East), Gurugram (West), Gurugram (North), Gurugram (South) and Nuh. Similarly, Faridabad Range would comprise of Faridabad (East), Faridabad (West), Faridabad (North), Faridabad (South) and Palwal, Hisar Range would include Hisar, Bhiwani, Fatehabad, Sirsa and Jind and Rohtak Range would include Rohtak, Panipat, Sonipat, Rewari, Narnaul and Jhajjar.

There would be three First Appellate Authorities at Ambala, Rohtak and Faridabad headed by JETC (Appeal). Apart from this, there would be 27 Tax Districts headed by Deputy Excise and Taxation Commissioner (Sales Tax). While Gurugram and Faridabad districts have been divided into eight zones (four in each), the rest would be same as Revenue Districts, he added.

While referring to the GST Migration Status as on 21 June, Abhimanyu said that 1,90,234 applicants in different districts of the state have been logged in successfully, which constitutes about 77 per cent.

This included 84.77 per cent in Panchkula district, 80.97 per cent in Rewari district, 80.65 per cent in Faridabad (East), 79.40 per cent in Faridabad (North), 76.99 per cent in Faridabad (West) and 77.95 per cent in Faridabad (South), 75.91 per cent in Jhajjar district, 79.76 per cent in Gurugram (West), 77.42 per cent in Gurugram (North), 74.52 per cent in Gurugram (South) and 76.53 per cent in Gurugram (East).

The Additional Chief Secretary, Excise and Taxation Department, Sanjeev Kaushal said that a meeting was held with the officers of state’s Central Excise and Service Tax administration recently to review the arrangements being made for implementation of GST in the state.

He said that at present, Haryana state’s Central Excise and Service Tax administration comes under Delhi Central Excise and Service Tax Zones with nine Administrative Commissionerates.

Now, Haryana GST Zone would be headed by a Chief Commissioner with office at Panchkula. He said that there would be four Administrative Commissionerates at Gurugram, Faridabad, Rohtak and Panchkula and two Audit Commissionerates and Appeal Commissionerates each at Gurugram and Panchkula.