The Congress’ student wing, the National Students Union of India (NSUI) on Wednesday bagged the posts of president and vice-president in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU), while the RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) won the posts of secretary and joint secretary.

NSUI candidates Rocky Tuseed was elected as the new DUSU president and Kunal Sehrawat as the vice-president.

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi tweeted congratulations to the winners and thanked Delhi University student for their faith in the party.

Officials had earlier said that NSUI won three seats.

When the counting started on Wednesday morning, it was being reported that ABVP was leading on all posts. However, NSUI took a surprise lead mid-way staging a comeback.

Tuseed, who polled 16,299 votes, defeated ABVP’s Rajat Chaudhary by a margin of 1,590 votes. Sehrawat with 16,431 votes defeated Parth Rana by 175 votes.

ABVP’s Mahamedhaa Nagar and Uma Shankar won the posts of secretary and joint secretary respectively. Nagar polled 17,156 votes to win by 2,624 votes while Shankar got 16,691 votes — winning by 342 votes.

Asked about the low margin of his victory, vice president-elect Sehrawat said: “A win is a win. The margin of victory doesn’t matter.”

The NSUI has sought a recount of votes for the joint secretary’s post.

Last year, the ABVP won three seats while the joint secretary was claimed by the NSUI.

The CPI (ML) backed All India Students Association had also contested the elections.

The DUSU election were organised on Tuesday.