The Haryana government on Tuesday appointed Indian Police Service (IPS) officer Sandeep Khirwar as Gurgaon’s new Commissioner of Police.

The 1995 batch IPS officer, Khirwar, was posted as Inspector General of Police (IGP-Security) with additional charge of IGP Railway and Commando.

The 1994 batch IPS officer, Navdeep Singh Virk, outgoing Commissioner of Police, has been appointed as IGP Rohtak Range.

IGP Rohtak Sanjay Kumar has been given the charge of IGP (Security).

IPS Alok Kumar Roy, S.K. Jain and Rajbir Singh Deswal have been promoted as Additional Director General of Police (ADGP) Railway and Commando, ADGP Home Guards Haryana and ADGP Litigation and Police Headquarters, Panchkula, respectively with immediate effect.

A massive traffic jam on the Delhi-Jaipur-Mumbai National Highway following heavy rain in July had triggered rumours of Virk’s transfer.

The huge traffic jam, which started on July 28 and lasted till July 29 evening, had brought the city to a grinding halt. Dozens of vehicles were trapped in storm water due to overflow in Badshahpur drain.