The Left alliance of the All India Students Association (AISA) and Students Federation of India (SFI) swept the JNU students union elections.

A united Left emerged victorious against archrival ABVP and others. The AISA-SFI left wing combine won all four posts in JNUSU.

Mohit Kumar Pandey of AISA-SFI combine secured 1954 votes and was elected as president. His rivals, Sonpimple Rahul Punaram of BAPSA secured 1545 votes while Janhawi of ABVP, secured 1048 votes. For the post of vice-president Amal PP won with 2461 votes.

The general secretary’s post was won by Satarupa Chakarborty, while the joint secretary’s post went to Tabrez Hasan. The total NOTA counted to be 1140.

The newly founded Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association (BAPSA) was in second place for the top three posts.The BJP-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) stood third and the Congress-backed National Students Union of India (NSUI) came last.

Celebrations broke out on JNU campus as soon as the results were announced where students danced and smeared gulal on their faces amid chants of azaadi.

This was the first student election in the campus since the arrest of JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar of the CPI-backed All India Students Federation (AISF) on charges of sedition after a group of students allegedly raised anti-India slogans at an event on 9 February and triggered a debate on nationalism.

The polls held on Saturday saw a voting percentage of around 60%, the highest in three years