sharbani banerjee
New Delhi, 11 March
J P Aggarwal, sitting MP from Northeast Delhi today received 252 votes defeating Rajesh Lilothia who received around 40 votes only but the battle to get the ticket still continues.
The election process of the primary in Northeast Delhi that took place today, however witnessed 292 candidates voting and in a big victory, Aggarwal received 252 votes. But the resentment inside the party for a Muslim candidate for the area will again throw a challenge for Aggarwal to secure his candidature.
Since the area has more than 25 per cent Muslim votes, there is a strong resentment inside the party that the ticket should be allotted to some Muslim candidate. For this, the delegation had met AICC general secretary in-charge Shakeel Ahmed yesterday.
According to sources, Mr Aggarwal won the primary election, but his candidature is not certain and yet to be decided as there are a few people who are opposing the same. "DPCC chief Arvinder Singh is likely to submit the names of a panel of candidates, a meeting for which will take place tomorrow. After that, Central Election Committee (CEC) will decide about the fate of the candidates," said the source.
In addition to this, the sources also said the primary process which has begun for the first time is nothing but just an eyewash as the candidature could not be decided like this. "However, sitting MP from New Delhi and former Union minister Ajay Maken has already been declared unopposed but the condition of Aggarwal is not the same. Such ideas are feasible in US but here we have to look for many aspects such as caste, community and demands," added the source.
This is the first time the Congress is holding US-style primaries to select candidates for 16 Lok Sabha seats in the country, which include two seats in Delhi – New Delhi and North East Delhi.
Apart from North East Delhi constituency, the resentment is equally strong among the party insiders in constituencies such as North West, West and South Delhi. "The office bearers and party insiders are not at all happy with the performance of the Krishna Tirath, Mahabal Mishra and Ramesh Kumar’s performance who belongs to North west, west and south Delhi constituencies respectively," added the source.