Follow Us:

Down to the wire in many seats

Web Archive |

New Delhi 13 December
The Delhi Assembly election witnessed extremely close contests in some constituencies. While five candidates won by less than 1,000 votes, eight candidates won by a margin of 2,000 votes or more.
Interestingly, in five seats there was a tight contest between BJP and the Aam Aadmi Party, with AAP emerging victorious in four seats and BJP in one. In the 2008 election, eight candidates won by a margin of less than 1,000 votes. However, in the previous poll, the contest was between BJP and Congress in four of the eight seats, and in the remaining four, other parties like BSP, NCP, RJD and LJP gave stiff competition to both BJP and Congress.
In this election, the Congress was relegated to single digits at a paltry eight seats while other parties were unable to open their account.
In the 2008 Assembly election the smallest margin of  defeat was by 46 votes when Shiromani Akali Dal’s Avatar Singh Hit was defeated by Adayanand Chandela of Congress from Rajouri Garden.
In this year’s election, the lowest margin was at RK Puram constituency from where one of the best known faces of AAP, Shazia Ilmi, lost by a mere 326 votes to BJP candidate Anil Kumar Sharma. In Delhi Cantonment, AAP’s Surender Singh defeated BJP’s Karan Singh Tanwar by a margin of 355 votes.
In the 2008 election, BJP’s Krishnan Gahlot was defeated by Nand Kishore of the Congress by 943 votes in Vikaspuri. This year, too, Gahlot lost the seat by 405 votes to AAP’s Mahinder Yadav. Another close contest was witnessed in Sadar Bazar where AAP candidate Som Dutt won by 796 votes against BJP’s Jai Prakash .