swimmi shrivastava
[email protected]
New Delhi, 14 November
A tussle over seats has prompted the BJP to defer the announcement of the candidate for the Nangloi (Jat) seat. The names of 69 other candidates for the 70-member Delhi Assembly, elections to which are being held on 4 December, have been announced.
 BJP sources said there is some indecision over whether the ticket should be given to Manoj Shoukeen, who had wanted to contest from Mundka. However, that seat has already been allotted to North Delhi Mayor Azad Singh.
 BJP insiders, meanwhile, said Mr Azad and Mr Shoukeen have reached an understanding to swap seats and have agreed to help each other during the election campaign. A few months back during the MCD by-elections in Nangloi a distant relative of Mr Manoj Shoukeen, Ms Renu Shaukeen was helped by Mr Azad Singh to contest the seat and she  defeated her Congress rival by a huge margin of votes. In its second list released late on Tuesday night, the BJP decided candidates for seven seats, leaving only the candidature for Nangloi (Jat) seat undecided.   With the decision to field former Delhi mayor Rajni Abbi from Timarpur, the BJP has nominated six women candidates in this election. Senior councillor and standing committee chairman of North Delhi Municipal Corporation Ram Kishan Singhal has been given a ticket from Adarsh Nagar. The party thus has given tickets to eight sitting councillors, five from North corporation and three from South corporation. No councillor from East corporation has been given a ticket this time. Mr Dheer Singh Bidhuri has been nominated from Okhla,  the first Hindu candidate fielded for this constituency by the BJP.