Delhi Police held its 72nd Raising Day at New Police Lines, Kingsway Camp, on Saturday. Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal, who was the chief guest, and Delhi Police Chief Amulya Patnaik paid tributes to the 40 CRPF jawans who were killed in the Pulwama terror attack and expressed solidarity with the families of the victims.

The LG inspected the parade comprising contingents of the anti-riot squad, armed police, women police, police commandos, dog squad, mounted police, traffic squad, women constables on bicycles, mobile cyber lab, PCR squad, SWAT and Rakshak Vajra. Contingents of Maharashtra Police, UP Police and Haryana Police also took part in the march past conducted by the Delhi Police band.  The chief guest conferred medals on 46 police personnel for gallantry and President’s Medal of Distinguished Service and Police Medal for Meritorious Service.  The trophy of Best Police Station was bagged by KN Katju police station while Malviya Nagar and Khayala police stations ended up as runners-up. The LG released the latest edition of Koshish – EkAsha, and visited the mini-exhibition showcasing the efforts of Police Families Welfare Society.

In his welcome address, the Commissioner of Police reiterated that commitment to fighting terrorism was the top priority of Delhi Police. He recognized the sincerity and hard work exhibited by the police in bringing down heinous crime in Delhi by 12% as compared to 2017, and a dip of 31% as compared to the heinous crime figures for 2016.

Anil Baijal said, “People should acknowledge the selfless efforts of policemen in maintaining law & order and other routine police work, as it would motivate them”. He said policing in Delhi is a tough and competitive task, as it is at the centre of all political, cultural and business activities and has the responsibility of providing security to scores of VVIPs and its common citizenry. He said Delhi Police has lived up to the expectations of all with their dedication, hard work and sincerity.

Kiran Bedi, LG of Puducherry, KK Paul, former Governor of Uttarakhand, former Commissioners of Police MB Kaushal, TR Kakkar, BK Gupta and Neeraj Kumar and several retired as well as serving senior police officers were present on the occasion.