Follow Us:

Delhi MCD polls: Modi magic may help BJP sail through

Rahul Vaishnavi | New Delhi |

Stray dogs, clogged sewers, mosquitoes and garbage dumps, different localities in Delhi have had their fair share of civic woes in the last ten years under the BJP governed municipal corporation. Yet, most Delhiites are willing to press the lotus button again on Sunday, putting their trust in Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Many of the Delhi voters, from different walks of life were impressed by PM Modi’s work at the Centre and expressed confidence that the Delhi municipality too will work more effectively under Modi’s watch.

“I know he (Modi) won’t be directly involved in the MCD but we all have seen him work and I trust him enough to vote for the BJP,” said the 35-year-old Abhishek Singh, a businessman from central Delhi.

Although, there were some who had their apprehensions because of the “average” work done by the party in the last two terms in office but were influenced by the party’s decision to field fresh faces.

“It (BJP) has made efforts to bring in youth and first timers. I feel this is a message to the people of Delhi that the BJP wants to start afresh in Delhi and is serious about its intents,” said Ankita Mehra, a 25-year-old executive from east Delhi who has decided to vote for BJP.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the MCD polls in 2007 and again in 2012. The corporation was trifurcated in 2012 into North, South (104 wards each) and East (64 wards) zones and in the polls held in April that year, BJP emerged as the biggest party although its total seat share came down from 2007.

However, there were some who outrightly rejected the BJP accusing it of failing to meet the expectations of the people of Delhi.

“What has the BJP done in ten years? There are stray dogs in our locality and the streets are always dirty. MCD is a den of corruption and needs a thorough cleaning,” said 50-year-old Gulshan Bhatia, a resident of east Delhi who will be voting for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

A total of 272 wards across three MCDs will go to the polls on April 23. The results will be declared on April 26.