Follow Us:

CM Patnaik conducts major rejig of top police officers

Statesman News Service | Bhubaneswar |

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik conducted a major shakeup in the top police administration shuffling several additional director general, IG, DIG and SP rank officers.

The most talked about change was that of Arun Kumar Sarangi, additional DGP intelligence who had served in the post for years and was regarded to have earned the confidence of the CM.

Sarangi has been moved to Biju Patnaik Police Academy, a post that he is said to have requested for to take a break from the years of strenuous political intelligence work.

M K Chhabra, Ms B Radhika were the two other ADG rank senior officers who were moved from their posts at oile traiing and SAP respectively to SAP and ADGP headquarter.

Mr S K Nath, IG Sambalpur was posted on promotion as ADGP SFSL while Vinaytosh Mishra moved from Balasore IG to ADGP Modernisation, R P Koche promoted in the same post of ADGP Operation.

Another significant change was shifting of R K Sharma IG EOW to Intelligence and Arun Bothra from modernisation to IG Crime Branch.

Several other DIG rank officers were shifted while Anup Sahoo was posted as DCP Bhubaneswar in place of Satyabrata Bhoi was shifted as DIG Sambalpur.

Importantly Ashis Singh who was SP Ganjam has been promoted and made DIG of Southern Range. The SP of Mayurbhanj, Ganjam, Angul, Berhampur, Balasore, Bhadrak, Deogarh, Bargarh, Sundergarh, Nawarangpur, Kandhamal were also replaced.