The counting of votes in Madhya Pradesh’s Shahdol parliamentary constituency and Nepanagar assembly constituency began amid tight security on Tuesday morning, an official said.
Polls here were held on November 19.
Initially the postal ballots were being counted which would be followed by the votes recorded in the EVMs, said an official from the Chief Election Commissioner’s office. 
The counting for the Shahdol seat was being carried out at four district headquarters, while the Nepanagar counting was at Burhanpur district headquarter. 
For the Shahdol seat Congress’ Himadri Singh and BJP’s Gyan Singh were putting up a close fight. There are 17 candidates vying for this seat that fell vacant when BJP MP Dalpat Singh Paraste passed away in June.
Even the Nepanagar seat is being fought between BJP’s Manju Dadu and Congress’ Antar Singh. There are only four candidates from this seat.