The Power Ministry on Monday said that under the Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY), a total of 5,537 villages have been electrified so far across the country and 258 villages were electrified last week, from February 15 to 21.

Among the electrified villages, 120 belong to Odisha, 64 to Jharkhand, 41 to Assam, 19 to Madhya Pradesh, eight to Rajasthan, and six to Chhattisgarh, according to a release by the ministry.

Under the DDUGJY, the Union government has decided to electrify 18,452 un-electrified villages within 1,000 days by May 1, 2018.

“In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis,” the release added.