Union Ministry of Power has stated that it has electrified 276 villages across the country last week under the Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna ( DDUGJY).

Under the scheme, the government has decided to electrify 18,452 villages by May 1, 2018.

The electrified villages include 139 in Assam, 25 in Bihar, 21 in Jharkhand, 60 in Odisha and 30 in Uttar Pradesh, according to the ministry’s release.