Maynaguri RSP MLA  may contest the polls from Jalpaiguri
Siliguri, 7 February
RSP MLA from Kumargram, Mr Dasrath Tirkey, who has joined Trinamul Congress, is likely to contest the
Lok Sabha elections from Alipurduar the ruling party’s ticket, party sources said today.
Sources also said RSP MLA from Maynaguri, who also allegedly cast vote in favour of the Trinamul Congress candidate in the Rajya Sabha polls, is likely to contest the polls from Jalpaiguri constituency, reserved for Schedule Caste.
“A perception is gaining ground  that these two leaders would be selected for two Lok Sabha seats in Jalpaiguri district,” a senior Trinamul leader in Jalpaiguri said.
“We have around four Adivasi leaders in our party to contest the Lok Sabha polls from Alipurduar.
“Aside from Joachim Buxla and Pawan Lakra, two other Adivasi leaders, Sukra Munda and Dasrath Tirkey are also in the reckoning as far as candidature for Alipurduar Parliamentary seat is concerned. But the party chief ,Mamata Banerjee  would take the final call,” he added.
Former RSP MP, Joachim Buxla, who is now engaged in helping the party foray in the tea belt, is a strong contender for the Alipurduar Lok Sabha seat.
Asked to comment, Mr Buxla said: “Mamata-di will take the final call. She had asked me to contest the polls in 2009, but I turned down her proposal because my prospects were bleak that time.”
Notably, Mr Buxla contested the Lok Sabha polls as an Independent candidate in 2004 and was defeated. Pawan Lakra, a Trinamul candidate, also had tasted defeat in 2009.
The RSP Jalpaiguri district secretariat member, Mr Prakash Roy said: “Dasrath Tirkey may contest from Alipurduar against our candidate, but the people and party supporters will not forgive him.
“In case Mr Tirkey, who is supposed to have bartered loyalty for money to cast votes for the ruling party candidate in the Rajya Sabha election, is nominated for Alipurduar seat our
candidate will  be the final
“People have not ceased to count moral scruples over unprincipled self-aggrandisement.”