Statesman News Service
Siliguri, 25 October
The secretary general of the Table Tennis Federation of India, Mr Dhanraj Choudhury, last evening inaugurated the All-India National Ranking East Zone Table Tennis Championships 2013, which is being organised by the North Bengal Table Tennis Association, in collaboration with the North Bengal Development Department, Siliguri Jalpaiguri Development Authority and Ministry of Sports, Government of West Bengal, at the Siliguri Indoor Stadium in Siliguri.
Inaugurating the tournament, Mr Choudhury said the best table tennis players in India, including top international paddlers such as Achanta Sarath Kamal, Subhajit Saha, Poulomi Ghatak, Mouma Das, Soumyadeep Roy and Soumyajit Ghosh will take part in the championship.
“Over 150 paddlers from the six districts of north Bengal and 550 players from the rest of the country will take part in the 10 categories of the meet. The matches of the tournament will be played simultaneously on 15 tables and 40 officials will officiate in the matches at a time,” he said 
Arjuna Award winner ace paddler Mantu Ghosh, additional district magistrate of Siliguri Mr PT Sherpa and chairman of the Siliguri Municipal Corporation Mr Arindam Mitra, who were also present on the occasion, said the main objective of organising the tournament in Sliguri was to inspire the youngsters in north Bengal to take to table tennis, which is already very popular in the region.
The tournament will end on 29 October 2013.