The Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) today announced the names of a number of pujas who have won ‘Kolkata Shree’ awards for different categories. A total of 63 Pujas won in the ‘Mayor’s Choice’ category. The KMC today announced the names of the Puja committees who have secured awards for different categories. The mayor, Firhad Hakim, today said: “The city is now caught in a Puja fever which sets in right after Mahalaya. The KMC like every year has shortlisted the number of pujas who have secured positions in the different categories under this award. Our judges have made their decisions based on several parameters and have handed over the final list to us.”

Most of the judges were eminent personalities such as author Shirshendu Mukherjee, singer Ajay Chakraborty, Danseuse Dona Ganguly, actor Deb Shankar Haldar and others. The pujas that have been selected in the ‘Sherar Shera’ category are-Suruchi Sangha, Naktala Udayan Sangha, Tala Pratyoy and S.B Park, Thakurpukur. In the ‘Sera Bishoy’ category, the winners are- Abasar Sarbojonin Durgotsab Samity, Gariahat Hindustan Club, North Tridhara, Pouro Karmachari Brindo Hazra Park. The ‘Serar Pujo’ category winners included Kashi Bose Lane Durga Puja Committee, Raj Danga Naba Uday, Sangha, Samaj Sebi Sangha and Hatibagan Sarbojonin Durgotsav Samity. In the ‘Sera Aloksajya’ category, the winners are- Ekdalia Evergreen Club, 25 Pally Sarbojanin Durgotsav Samiti, Chalta Bagan and Hindustan Park Sarbojanin Durgotsab Committee. Winners in the ‘Sera Pratima’ category are – Ajeya Sanghati, Chakraberia Sarbojanin Durgotsab O Pradarshani and Barisha Club.

In ‘Sera Paribesh’ catergory, winners are Beliaghata 33 Pally, Bosepukur Sitala Mandir Durgotsav Committee, Alipore Sarbojonin and Dakshin Kolkata Sarbojanin. In the ‘Shera Shoilpik Utkarsho’, winners are Avenue South, 41 Pally Club, Kalighat Milan Sangha and Ballugunge Cultural Association. Winners in the ‘Sera Porichanna Pujo’ are 66 Pally Club, Bakul Bangan Sarbojanin Durgotsab, Jodhpur Park and Shib Mandir Sarbojanin Durgotsav Samity. Finally, in the Sera Sambhabona category, winners are Mudiali Club, Golmath Durga Puja Samity, 21 Pally and Baghajatin B&C Block. Meanwhile, a total of around 63 Pujas have been selected in the ‘Mayor’s Choice’ category. Some of them are Hatibagan Nabin Pally, Nalin Sarkar Street Sadharan Durgotsav, Babubagan, Badamtala Ashar Sangha, Bosepukur Talbagan, Kumartuli Sarbojanin, Tala Barowari.