statesman news service
BALURGHAT, 18 JUNE: The ruling Trinamul Congress won two gram panchayat seats under Gangarampur block along with three panchayat samiti seats under the same block uncontested as the candidates of the principal Opposition CPI-M have withdrawn their nominations.
The former state small scale-industries minister and the local CPI-M leader, Mr Narayan Biswas, alleged that the Trinamul Congress had engaged goons to force the CPI-M candidates in several panchayat body seats,
including zilla parishad, panchayat samitis and gram
panchayats, to stay away from the polls.
“Those candidates who have already filed nominations for the Left Front, especially those belonging to the CPI-M and the RSP, keep receiving threats from the Trinamul-backed goons. They are too scared to campaign. We have urged the observers to look into the matter seriously,” Mr Biswas said.
According to him, the CPI-M has a strong base across Gangarampur block.
“But this time, due to the terror campaign of the ruling party, my party has even failed to file nominations in the seats of the concerned block.
Failing to capture the strong base of CPI-M, the ruling Trinamul Congress leaders and supporters have now engaged in the dirty game of alluring their party men with false assurances of providing them with jobs or other facilitates,” he said.
The South Dinajpur Trinamul Congress district president, Mr Biplab Mitra, rubbished the allegation.
“The campaign is part of a game plan to malign us. People are now flocking around my party for development. We are not alluring any Left Front worker. They are coming of their own accord,” he said.
The CPI-M will contest 12 seats and RSP six out of 18 seats of the zilla parishad from South Dinajpur district this year.
At the gram panchayat level, the CPI-M will contest 606, RSP 371 and CPI 20 seats, leaving five for the Forward Bloc candidates out of a total of 1,002 gram panchayat seats.
The CPI-M will contest 117 seats, RSP 72 and CPI one seat out of a total of 190 panchayat samiti seats from the district.