Siliguri, 25 October
The CPI-M has suspended Ms Jyoti Tirkey as a party member after she defied the party whip and voted for the removal of the CPI-M Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad (SMP) sabhadhipati, Mr Pascal Minz.
Being a CPI-M member, Ms Tirkey had also ignored the party whip during the election of the SMP sabhadhipati. Ms Tirkey, who was acting as the sahakari sabhadhipati of the CPI-M-run body, was elected as the SMP sabhadhipati of the Trinamul Congress on 21 October. “The party had show caused her but she did not feel it was necessary to reply on the show cause letter. She defied the party whip and attended the removal meeting and also attended the election. Though the matter is sub judice as we have filed a case at Calcutta High Court.
In the Darjeeling district committee meeting and in the extended district committee meeting, we decided to suspend her party membership,” said the acting secretary of the Darjeeling district CPI-M, Mr Jibesh Sarkar, in Siliguri today.
The decision was taken in presence of the Left Front chairman Mr Biman Bose. Mr Bose was in Siliguri to address the party&’s secretariat meeting, district committee meeting and the extended meeting. When asked about the party&’s allegation that a section of businessmen were luring the Left activists and whether the CPI-M which is an organised and ideology-based party could be trapped, Mr Bose said it was happening everywhere and the CPI-M was not an exception.
Two invitee members ~ Mr Meheboob Alam and Mr Bablu Ravidas ~ were included in the district committee and five invitee members ~ Mr Choton Kisku, Mr Dibas Choubey, Mr Mukul Sengupta and Mr Suk Bahadur Tamang have been included in the Darjeeling district secretariat of the CPI-M.