Fifty-five registered third-gender voters will cast their vote in Burdwan. The district is crucial to this year’s electoral battle in the state.

The district has 27,21,187 female voters out of 56,72,730 total electors. The gender ratio in the district stands at 922. In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, Burdwan district had 29 third-gender voters, who were termed ‘other gender’ voters then.

Burdwan has recorded an increase in voters’ number by 1, 42,167 in the last one year, which has registered 2.57 per cent negative growth compared to the previous escalation rate. The district, however, is yet to categorise the nature of polling stations in terms of sensitivity but has already received one battalion of Central paramilitary forces, who have started route march besides holding confidence-building measures across the 25 Assembly constituencies over the past four days.

The district has 6784 polling stations, of which 2,302 fall under the Asansol-Durgapur police commissionerate.

The Asansol (North) segment has 2,45,118 voters. The segment also has 10 third-gender voters, the highest in the district. Several segments like Monteswar, Ausgram, Bhatar, Katwa, Raniganj and Jamuria have no third-gender voters as per the upgraded electoral database made public on 5 January 2016. Some segments like Durgapur (East & West), Purbasthali (North), and Kalna have one third-gender voter each. The Burdwan (North) segment recorded 1, 20,616 female voters – the largest pool of female voters in the district against 87,583 – the lowest figure of female casters registered with the Pandaveswar segment. Pandaveswar is the segment which has the lowest number of electors too — at 1,89,412.