Follow Us:

300 Congress, CPI-M, BJP workers join TMC


The exodus from Opposition parties to Trinamool Congress is continuing with around 300 workers from the CPI-M, Congress and BJP joining the ruling party on Thursday. They joined the TMC in the presence of Trinamool Congress state president Subrata Bakshi, who handed them the party flag.

The secretary of the West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee, Somen Acharjya, and Sanatan Halder joined the Trinamool. Around 150 Congress workers joined the with them.

There was exodus from the state BJP as well, with around 20 BJP supporters led by BJP leader Jayanta Bose (from KMC ward no 72) joining the party.BJP leader from Birbhum, Bipod Taran Mondal along with 10 BJP supporters also joined the Trinamool Congress.

Earlier Bikash Bhunia, the president of the West Midnapore district Congress committee along with his followers joined the Trinamool and helped the ruling party establish its control over the Sabong panchayet samity.A senior Trinamool leader said that BJP, which has been trying to strengthen its base in Birbhum will face a jolt as Bipod Taran Mondal, an organiser of the district BJP has joined the Trinamool.

Several supporters from CPI-M also joined Trinamool on Thursday.

A similar scene took place a few days ago also as several members of the zilla parishad from Murshidabad, a stronghold of West Bengal Congress chief Adhir Chowdhury joined the Trinamool Congress. Trinamool leader Suvendu Adhikari on Thursday claimed that within the next few months his party would take control of Murshidabad and Malda zilla parishads.