Australia and England meet each other in the second semi-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at Edgbaston in Birmingham on Thursday. The winner of this match will meet New Zealand at Lord’s on 14 July.

England — the pre-tournament favourites — started their journey with supreme authority but their losses against Sri Lanka and Australia made task tougher for them. Before time could inch them, the Englishmen turned it on against India and New Zealand to secure a third spot. And at Edgbaston, they are unbeaten in their last 10 matches in all forms.

Australia, on the other, stuttered after losing to South Africa and, as a result, shifted from the top spot to the second.

Notably, Australia have played seven semi-finals of World Cup so far and have won six and tied one. This shows the potential of the team which has always punched above its weight at the knockout stages. Moreover, five World Cup titles make it easier for the defending champions to boast their reign at the mega platform.

Meanwhile, England will play their sixth World Cup semi-final. The last time the team qualified for the semi-finals was in the 1992 World Cup and since then the coveted trophy has only been a dream for the Englishmen. But in this World Cup they have been flawless and things may change for them.

Interestingly, England have not been able to lift the World Cup despite reaching the finals in 1979, 1987 and 1992.

England do not have any major injury concerns. Meanwhile, Australia mentor Langer has effectively affirmed Peter Handscomb will play in place of injured Usman Khawaja in the playing eleven.

Marcus Stonis will also be available for selection, having recovered in time, post his side strain against the Proteas.

Live action begins from 3 pm (IST).


Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Steven Smith, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Kane Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Tom Curran, James Vince, Moeen Ali, Liam Dawson