It is redemption time for Pakistan as they take on Bangladesh to start their campaign for World T20 on Wednesday.

The Shahid Afridi-led team lost to Bangladesh in the Asia Cup recently and they must be eyeing revenge for the humiliating loss.

But Bangladesh, who had to play the qualifiers to come to the main round will be no pushovers as their players have hit the form at the right time.

Tamim Iqbal can surely be the trump card for the match to be played in Kolkata&’s Eden Gardens.

In the qualifier match against Oman, left arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan also put up a sizzling show by picking up his career best figures of four for 25 in a do-or-die game.

Pakistan, on the other hand, boast of the most potent attack with the likes of Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan and Wahab Riaz.

But, the real problem for them can be the batting order, as they were challenged even by the minnows in the recently concluded Asia Cup, prompting the selectors to tinker with the squad.

“Yes, Pakistan can be really dangerous if the pitch is assisting the seamers. But the biggest concern is batting,” Pakistan cricketer Misbah Ul Haq said in Dubai.

Mohammad Hafeez made a 70 not out in their 15-run win over Sri Lanka in the warm-up match on Monday and Pakistan would hope that he continues with his fine form.

Pakistan would also rely on Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal to fire in unison.

“Mohammad Hafeez has to lead from the front and a lot will depend on Shahid Afridi&’s form too,” Misbah said.

Well, Misbah is concerned about the captain, who has come under serious criticism due to his lack of form and the off field comments on his welcome to India.

It is perhaps the last chance for Afridi.


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan (wk), Al-Amin Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammed Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman.

Pakistan: Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Mallik, Mohammad Irfan, Sharjeel Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Sami, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Amir, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Khurram Manzoor.